Standards for Teaching Social Studies in NC Public Schools

Students in American public schools typically take seven years of required social studies curriculum, from Grade 5 through Grade 11. Here are the standards for social studies in North Carolina public schools:

Preamble to Teaching Social Studies

Meeting the Needs of Students in the 21st Century

Kindergarten Social Studies

Essential Standards: Third, Fourth and Fifth-grade Social Studies

Grade 6: World Geography. Beginning of Human Society to the First Gilded Age

Essential Standards Seventh Grade Social Studies

Essential Standards Eighth Grade Social Studies

World History Course (usually 9th and 10th grades)

American History I: The Founding Principles

American History II

American History: Founding Principles, Civics and Economics

Social Studies Electives

Original Page Where These Documents Were Retrieved From

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.