Lameduck: A History of Presidential Transitions and Concession Speeches

For only the fifth time in American history, a president will not attend his successor’s inauguration. Historian Doris Kearns Goodwin says Donald Trump’s denigration of the ritual of peaceful transitions is “a real loss” that will have long-term implications. “Once the electorate has voted them out, what have politicians accomplished as they linger in office? And how was the term “lame duck” coined? Correspondent Mo Rocca looks at America’s time-honored practice of peaceably handing over the reins of presidential power.” — CBS Sunday Morning. The clip highlights the 1933 transition between Herbert Hoover and Franklin D. Roosevelt.


How to Concede an Election: McCain; Romney; Gore; Bush; Hillary Clinton; Kerry

1984 & 1988: Landslide Defeats for Democrats. Concession Speeches by Mondale and Dukakis, Reflecting on Liberalism’s Failures

1996 Concession By Bob Dole to Bill Clinton: ‘My Opponent, Not My Enemy.’

Americans Close Ranks: Adlai Stevenson in 1952 Conceded to Dwight Eisenhower

Hubert Humphrey Graciously Conceded Painfully Close 1968 Election to Richard Nixon

Eloquent Concession Speech, 1972: George McGovern, Landslide Loser to Richard Nixon

No Rancor: Barry Goldwater’s Concession to LBJ, 1964

Richard Nixon Concession Speeches: Gracious in 1960, Bitter in 1962; Self-Sacrificing and Poignant in 1974

Humble Concession Speeches: Gerald Ford to Jimmy Carter, Voice Lost, 1976; Carter to Reagan, 1980

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.